Paint, paper, fabric

So, my studio, where I dearly love to paint, is also where I love to create things with paper, and sometimes fabric as well. This past month or so has been a little of all three.

In April I wrapped up my second Skillshare abstract painting workshop under the tutelage of the awesome Nicole Arnold, creating this little beauty I call “John Deere Green.”

cropped JDG

I love these short-burst Skillshare workshops — Nicole is a great instructor and it’s just a great way to get some inspiration and motivation. And you get to see what other artists are doing, too. And I even won a prize — a wonderful box of original “Art-o-Mat” pieces by 10 different Art-o-Mat artists! I will post a photo when I finally settle on where I am going to display them. You can read about all the winners here.

Meanwhile, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Northern California region (of which I’ve been a member for 10 years now!) held a contest to create the banner logo for their newly-launched blog called the ACORN. I entered this all-paper and hand-lettered piece:Acorn Logo Contest Entry

I’m proud to say that although I didn’t win, I was one of three runners-up! You can see the blog and other runners-up here.

Then last week, my sweet niece graduated from UNLV, and she is a big Disneyland fan. So, her mother (who is also my sister!) and I collaborated on fabric choices to represent the five original lands of Disneyland, and an extra for Disneyland’s famous fireworks. Here’s what we came up with. Each canvas is 12×12 and ready for hanging.

fabric disney gift

My sister got away with not having gluey fingers….she and I did a LOT of searching for just the right fabrics, and I did all the sticky work! But it was all worth it because these were a big hit. Hey, college grads have to have something to hang on their walls besides that diploma. Top row, L-R: Frontierland, Main Street, fireworks. Bottom row, L-R: Tomorrowland, Adventureland and Fantasyland. My sister and I were especially thrilled to find fabric that resembled the merchandise bags from the 1970s/80s (our choice for Fantasyland).

And that’s just part of what I’ve been up to lately….still working on the 100-Day Project, where I am woefully behind, again. Back at it with Nicole Arnold in yet another workshop, this time studying Mondrian. And one day soon I’ll share my first attempt at stop-motion animation. 2016 has definitely been all different kinds of creative, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

